Winter Birds

Although we have had a pretty amazing Autumn, weather wise, I feel the season is changing and we are heading full on into Winter. I actually quite like this time of year as you start to get photography opportunities with wildlife that would not have been possible at any other time of the year.

I’ve been ramping up the food (both quantity and variety) of food on offer at various feeding stations around my gardens in the hope that I’ll soon get a steady flow of birds back on a daily basis.

When it comes to photographing birds in your garden you can improve things a lot by focusing on your backgrounds. By this I mean that you don’t really want a big old man-made structure (such as a bird table) to be part of the shot. When I get back from Houston – where I am now – I’m going to work on a few props for the garden. Natural perches for the more nervous of birds to sit at. Perfect opportunity to grab the shot before and after they feed. More on this in a later post.

Leave a Reply

