Chasing A Dream

My Office

Today marks, hopefully, the start of something special. Today I get the chance to photograph my first big game. Ipswich vs. Watford. As some of you know I’ve been doing sports photography for my local club, Cambridge United, for the past few years. I’ve loved doing it. It’s something that I’d like to do on a more professional level at some point.

The past year, in the background, I’ve been chatting with an agency, Action Plus, putting the necessary bits in place to get to where we are today. My football league accreditation came through while I was in Houston a few weeks ago and since then I’ve been manic busy on other stuff. Tomorrow I get my first chance to do some freelance for them.

I’m really looking forward to it, if a little nervous. Photo deadlines will do that to you. Plenty of people have commented this week. WOW ! So lucky, getting to watch games for free ! Wrong ! It certainly isn’t fee, given I have to cover my own expenses. And secondly, I definitely don’t get to watch the game. Instead I’ll be focused. Looking for the opportunity to get the shots that will sell.

The focus actually starts before the game – although I’m a massive football fan I don’t follow closely the Football Championship. I need to get my head around player names, given that as well as shooting during the game, I need to be doing the processing as well.

I’ll let you know how I get on in a later post.

I’ll keep chasing the dream … one day it may just happen 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

