British Wildlife Photography Awards 2014

A Promise to myself

Every year, for the past 5 or so, I’ve kicked myself as I realised the closing date for a competition I had promised myself I would enter was only a few days away. I always said to myself… “okay, next year you will get around to entering a few images”. Sadly, as the next year’s deadline approached, I found myself repeating the very same statement.

As many of you will know back in October of 2013 I kicked of my own personal project – Britain’s Big Five – and I thought this would be the perfect opportunity to increase my portfolio of british species, perfect for making a selection for the British Wildlife Photography Awards.

This time when the date came around I was much better prepared and had a selection of around 20 images of that I managed to cull down to 10 which I then duly entered. This was the very first photograph competition I had ever entered.

Shortlisted

A few months later I got an email to confirm that two of my images had been selected for the shortlist (now I’m not too sure how long that first short list is but I assume quite long). Still I was over the moon that out of the many thousands of images that had been submitted, a few of mine had stood out (even just a little).

An Inspiration for the Future

Sadly the images which had been shortlisted didn’t get any further, but it didn’t matter. You see both of the images had been taken during one of my most productive periods of photography in recent years. I had been out with the camera most mornings and evenings, and while on quite a few occasions I had come away with nothing (from a pictorial point of view) I had learned a little each time – behaviour, location and of course time behind the lens. The shortlisted images were proof to me that time in the field is the most critical part of my growth as a photographer.

Looking at the winners and commended images from this year is a further inspiration and one that has me fired up for one of my favourite times of the year behind the lens – Autumn. This, along with the Big5 project, will hopefully have me quite busy over the coming months which I’m really excited about.

The two images which had been shorted listed can be found below. The Water Vole had been short listed in the Animal Portraits section with the Roe Deer in the Animal Behaviour. Both species are on my Big5 project list.

European Water Vole (Arvicola amphibius)
European Water Vole (Arvicola amphibius)
Roe Deer Leaping (Capreolus capreolus)
Roe Deer Leaping (Capreolus capreolus)

4 thoughts on “British Wildlife Photography Awards 2014

  1. both of those are cracking photos. Shame they didn’t get any further in the awards, but at least you have the satisfaction that they got shortlisted and you know they are superb.

Leave a Reply

